Default Passwords for Avaya IP Office

Avaya IP-Office: How to Reset All Passwords for Default Built-in System Users

Mike's PBX tech help.One of the first items on installation or assuming management of an Avaya IP Office phone system is to change the default password of the Administrator's account. There are other built-in system users that Avaya has built-in, for instance Manager and Operator, as well as others. The following step by step guide is to reset all of these built-in accounts to the defaults. Good admin practice always requires a change from any default passwords to prevent access from unauthorized users entering your phone system and making changes. Or worse yet, to place unauthorized calls that can accumulate an abundance of charges very quickly. Unauthorized calls that occur routinely involve international calls, so the expense can be significant.

For refurbished renewed telephones from a trusted vendor; Avaya Partner 18D Avaya 1416 Deskphone Avaya 5410 Desk Phone

For the following change you will need a straight through serial cable.


Avaya IP Office; steps to reset all default system users passwords, step by step. Mike's PBX tips.

Start by first connecting a straight serial cable between the IP Office DTE port and your computer.

IP Office Built-in Accts & Default Passwords
For a list of the default security users in IP-Office.

Username - Password

  • Administrator - Administrator
  • Maintainer - Maintainer
  • SMGRB5800Admin - SMGRB5800Admin
  • Operator - Operator
  • BusinessPartner - BusinessPartner
  • EnhTcpaService - EnhTcpaPwd1

Avaya IP Office Default Security Users

Related Articles

Avaya IP Office - How to default passwords.
Avaya IP Office - How to connect to your phone system.
Avaya IP Office - How to do a backup and restore.
Avaya IP Office Phone Guides

NOTE: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc. or its affiliates.